I Could See For Miles, Miles, Miles

IMG_1384

I love the mountains.  I don’t think I can say that enough.  I fell in love with them the second I saw them, and I was shocked when I realized I had lived here a week and not gone to the mountains!  So, Sunday afternoon I packed some snacks and drove up the Blue Ridge Parkway.  

For me, the closest things to spiritual experiences that I have are the moments that I spend in nature- looking at all of this beauty.  When I stand on top of a mountain, or the edge of a canyon or even in a field, I’m always reminded of a line from the Bon Iver song Holocene, “And at once I knew I was not magnificent.”  

IMG_7423

That’s exactly the feeling I got Sunday on the Parkway. Not because I’m not proud of who I am as a person, or the things I’ve accomplished, but I was reminded of how small I am- and I love that I am still humbled by new experiences, by exploring, by wandering…

IMG_1390

IMG_1406

IMG_7411

… and I hope that I don’t ever lose that.  

2 thoughts on “I Could See For Miles, Miles, Miles”

Leave a Reply

